The Sorry Kisses - Um And Ah

Um And Ah

The Sorry Kisses

Available Formats No. of Tracks   Price Buy
Download Album (mp3) 11 tracks 7.99
Download individual tracks   From £0.99


The Sorry Kisses - Um And Ah

'Um and Ah' is the second full length album release by the UK based musical outfit The Sorry Kisses.

Following the successful release of their debut album 'Hard Drive' on Desert Mine Music in 2008, the core duo, Hayley Hutchinson and Sam Forrest set about writing their second effort.

Whilst maintaining their strict DIY aesthetic and recording everything in the spare bedroom of their house in York, the Sorry Kisses set about expanding their lo-fi sludge-pop sound into bolder and more experimental territory.

The first song to be recorded, 'Ventura Sunset', pays testament to this instantly with its psychedelic backwards guitars and hazy West Coast harmonies.

In fact the whole album can be seen as an ode to the American West Coast as seen through a kaleidoscope of styles ranging from Flaming Lips-esque sun-frazzled pop to heavily opiated 4AD excursions all wrapped up in Hutchinson's Breeders-esque double tracked vocals.

That's not to say that 'Um and Ah' is a victim of style over substance. 'Abandon Ship' is an ocean sized ballad that soars on a wave of heartbroken cellos, whereas the corruscating grunge-fest of 'Fake' and drunken bar room ho-down of 'Bad Habit' cast a withering eye over scenesters, loudmouths and hangers-on the world over.

So once again, The Sorry Kisses have managed to show that despite the limitations of recording an entire album on a laptop in a spare bedroom, when it comes to music, the only limit is your own imagination.

Please note that this album is available only on luxury CDR with homeprinted cover and exclusive plastic wallet!


Manchester Music by JA


The Sorry Kisses are Hayley Hutchinson and Sam Forrest and at this moment in time they have to be one of Manchester’s best kept secrets. Last year’s “Hard Drive” was an exceptional album and this self produced, self recorded follow up is a fair attempt at going one better. “Um And Ah” is a collection of perfectly formed tunes, each of which appear to be hewn from both the early 4AD and Californian rock movements, tinged with the dreamy, but pure toned vocal talents of Ms Hutchinson. “Ventura Sunset” and “My Friend” begin the album as two, bright shining songs, where the guitars ring out and the melody is underpinned by distant, yet effective harmonies. When the themes become slower, “Abandon Ship” has the added romantic zest of strings and a folkish, reflective flair and throughout the chord changes and song structures seem beyond impeccable and perfectly designed. The wick gets turned up for “Fake” which is a ground out, alternative rock tune with its simple riffs well placed to underpin the tag line. There are countrified jangles as the LP progresses and when Sam Forrest takes to the vocals on “Merry Go Round”, it’s proof enough of a definite change of flavour. Then the glorious off kilter moves of “The Way We Were” supply just another notch on the hit-o-meter, allowing the sanguine slow motion pulse of “Emilie” to almost slips us into a world of pretty shoegaze. “Good Time” is a wonderfully raucous clash of chords and melodics, with more of that peevish guitar tilt and before you know it, the drifting “Step Into The Light” takes us on the closing, candlelit journey.

Whilst there are respective careers for each of the two players that make up The Sorry Kisses, coming up with two mind blowing albums in two years is normally beyond the bounds of most artists, not least those in Manchester. It’s a blissful form that just can’t be ignored.



Download Album (DMM003)
  1. The Sorry Kisses - Ventura Sunset
  2. The Sorry Kisses - My Friend
  3. The Sorry Kisses - Abandon Ship
  4. The Sorry Kisses - Fake
  5. The Sorry Kisses - Bad Habit
  6. The Sorry Kisses - Merry Go Round
  7. The Sorry Kisses - The Way We Were
  8. The Sorry Kisses - I Want Your Love
  9. The Sorry Kisses - Emilie
  10. The Sorry Kisses - Good Time
  11. The Sorry Kisses - Step Into The Light

mp3 downloads


Track Number Track NameTrack Length Price Buy
1 Ventura Sunset 3m 11s £0.99
2 My Friend 4m 8s £0.99
3 Abandon Ship 4m 16s £0.99
4 Fake 3m 3s £0.99
5 Bad Habit 3m 12s £0.99
6 Merry Go Round 2m 55s £0.99
7 The Way We Were 3m 28s £0.99
8 I Want Your Love 5m 20s £0.99
9 Emilie 4m 29s £0.99
10 Good Time 2m 58s £0.99
11 Step Into The Light 3m 59s £0.99
Entire MP3 Download Album (11 tracks) £7.99
MP3 format technical details
These mp3 tracks have been encoded with LAME providing you with a very rich listening experience. No DRM or copy protection is built in to the mp3s.